Information Meetings

Do you have a lot of questions about adopting a Rhode Island child who is in state care ? Are you trying to decide whether it’s right for you? Would you like to begin to get the adoption process underway? If the answer is yes to any of these questions, we suggest that you come to an Information Meeting. These meetings are held once a month and feature presenters from Adoption Rhode Island and the Department of Children, Youth, and Families. At the meetings the steps of the adoption process will be explained and you will learn about the children waiting to be adopted and the rewards and challenges involved. There will also be plenty of opportunity to ask questions. Applications to start the adoption process are available at the meeting if you decide you are interested. Families also learn about other routes they can take to become involved in the lives of waiting children.

Information meetings are held once a month. The meetings are free and an R.S.V.P. is not required. Because of the sensitive subjects discussed in the meetings, they are not appropriate for children to attend. Most meetings are held at our office at 2 Bradford Street in Providence (Click here for directions). The upcoming schedules are as follows:

Providence – Meetings begin at 6:00pm

• Thurs, Jan 19, 2017
• Wed, Feb 15, 2017
Thursday, Feb 16, 5-7pm – Heart Gallery Open House at The 400 (400 Smith St., Providence). Adoption RI staff will be on hand to answer questions about adoption from foster care and provide information about the services we offer children, older youth and families impacted by adoption and foster care. All are welcome!
• Thurs, March 16, 2017
• Wed, April 12, 2017
• Thurs, May 18, 2017
• Wed, June 14, 2017
• Thurs, July 12, 2017
• Wed, Aug 16, 2017
• Thurs, Sept 14, 2017
• Wed, Oct 18, 2017
• Thurs, Nov 9, 2017
• Wed, Dec 6, 2017

The following additional meetings will be held at at the time/venue indicated below.

• Wed, Jan 25 – 6:30pm, Warwick Public Library
• Tues, March 28 – 6:00pm, The Village (restaurant)
373 Richmond St., Providence

PLEASE NOTE: Meetings may be cancelled due to inclement weather. If the weather is questionable, please call beforehand.



©Copyright Adoption Rhode Island, 2016 - 2 Bradford St. Providence, RI 02903 - 401.865.6000